_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Help with camo painting
707_impaler
Visit this Community
Luzon, Philippines
KitMaker: 2 posts
Armorama: 2 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 16, 2014 - 07:59 AM UTC
Hey guys. So I've recently airbrushed my 1/35 Tamiya Jagdtiger its base coat Dunkelgelb. But I'm having trouble painting an actual camo on it (all my other models are either still on their basecoat or painted over white for winter camo). This is my first time painting an actual camo pattern on my model. I've read up on camo painting techniques on the net, but I'm pretty damn nervous to apply them myself So with that, what can I use to "trace" the pattern before I paint it? Is a pencil safe? Or should I use blu-tack/silly putty to mask the whole thing? Any useful advice and constructive advice would be very appreciated.

Also, the paints I am currently working with are Tamiya enamel because, well, they are what I've got right now.
Belt_Fed
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 1,388 posts
Armorama: 1,325 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 16, 2014 - 08:19 AM UTC
You have a few options here in terms of masking or using a guide. And I will try to explain them here

Using a mask- German camo is "soft edge" meaning the demarcation between colors is soft, not sharp. That is to say, it is NOT like the transition of colors of a piece of paper on a table. This means that the mask you use needs to have its edges lifted off the surface. Blue- tack, sticky-tack, or whatever poster hanging gel that is available to you will work. You would have to apply the stuff on the paint color you want that spot to remain. I personally do not like to use because I find the results to look unnatural