Posted: Sunday, March 30, 2014 - 03:31 AM UTC
http://www.dragon-models.com/d-m-item.asp?pid=DRA3550
DerGeist
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 735 posts
Armorama: 707 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 30, 2014 - 03:52 AM UTC
I'm no KPz-70 expert, but the infantry phone box on the rear plate appears over sized to me and they're missing the mesh screens on the engine deck. Otherwise it checks out with a quick comparison of the pics I took of Munster's KPz-70. The movable suspension is a nice touch.

Erik

kruppw
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 1,117 posts
Armorama: 1,115 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 30, 2014 - 03:59 AM UTC
thanks for the link. Looks okay, but I'll take it with a grain of salt after seeing some of their other modern releases. I'm no expert on the subject, but two areas that stick out for me are the optics and the 20mm aamg. The optics have clear lense but nothing behind them are far optics go even though the box art shows something there. The void are under the 20mm, should this be open like that or should their be some sort of ammo feed and some sort of mechanism to raise and lower the gun?
LeoCmdr
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 4,085 posts
Armorama: 3,917 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 30, 2014 - 06:01 AM UTC
It's nice to see some build images of the KPz 70 kit.

Your collective observations do look accurate...the tank phone being too big, the lack of engine air intake screens, and the missing details on the L85 20mm cannon.

There should be a ton more detail for the L85 cannon in the tub, the mount, and on the gun itself.

There is a great walkaround of the KPz 70 on Prime Portal...
http://www.primeportal.net/tanks/david_lueck/mbt-70_experimental_tank/

If these are the actual details in the kit and not just a build mock up then Dragon could have done a better job and an aftermarket detail set will for sure be welcomed.

Still, the kit looks like it has lots of potential.

Vodnik
Visit this Community