_GOTOBOTTOM
Figures
Military figures of all shapes and sizes.
Newbie here, first built and painted figure
92ndArmourDiv
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6 posts
Armorama: 6 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 04:20 PM UTC
Hello there,

I decided to dabble in figure painting (I get commission vehicles done but they never have crews/dioramas, looking to change that). Started off with the DML Barbarossa infantry, figured it would be straight forward.

My concerns mainly are getting the uniform details painted, de-glossing him (I have vallejo matt varnish on order) and any tips or tricks to avoid eye painting.

I tried applying a heavy wash in and around his eyes to create almost a B&W photo shadow but it only works under particular lighting.

Thoughts?

1stjaeger
Visit this Community
Wien, Austria
KitMaker: 1,744 posts
Armorama: 1,727 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 06:02 PM UTC

Hi there P (Peter or Paul or 3,1429..??)

first of all, welcome to the asylum! Wish you get as much fun out of it as we do!

Now, regarding the figure:

of course, the sheen is the main problem. I have the feeling that the lighting might be responsible for some of it (too strong, too direct (look at the bright spot on his right shoulder!), but you must get rid of all of it!

Get inspiration and help from the web o.s.! This is primordial!

I would personally suggest to tone the uniform coulour more towards the greyish side (if we talk 1940/1941). For that I send you a PM (check your inbox!)

As far as eyes are concerned, I left a comment recently, based on Shep Paine's opinion that you hardly see more than a dark line when people squint in the sun.

Don't believe anything...go and verify! Look at people so far away they become "1/35"...and see for yourself!

I like the lower half of your face a lot!! Well done indeed!!

I don't know what is responsible for the odd colour on the K98 stock, but the greenish tint is not recommended!

And the K98 must have a Gewehrriemen!