_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
First attempt at mudding.
MikeyBugs95
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 2,210 posts
Armorama: 1,712 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 16, 2014 - 12:15 PM UTC
Like the title says, this is my first attempt at putting "mud" on a vehicle properly. I recently got some AK Interactive Fresh Mud paint and decided to use it for once. Now before you guys get your panties in a bunch, this is one of my test beds... For obvious reasons.

What do you guys think? Is it OK for a first try?
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 10,954 posts
Armorama: 8,571 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 16, 2014 - 12:36 PM UTC
The mud on the track portion and wheels would be on the whole wheel, back, middle and front and also on the hull sides and and track guards. The amount laid on in terms of thickness looks very good. It is not easy to tell for sure but the mud looks too generalised locations wise, by this I mean placed as opposed to aquired. Nice effort and the beauty of it is you can play until you are happy which is what matters.
MikeyBugs95
Visit this Community
New York, United States
Posted: Tuesday, September 16, 2014 - 01:58 PM UTC
Thanks. I know about the mud needing to be on the entire surface: front, back, sides, top and bottom. I wasn't trying to convey the entire area as I was just trying to practice it. And I do think you're right about generalization. Any idea on how I could remedy this? Also how can I get the plaster to stay pliable longer? It lasts for only a few minutes. Even if I get get it to last a minute or two longer that's still a minute or two more that I have to apply it.
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 10,954 posts
Armorama: 8,571 posts