_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Opinions on Mr Surfacer Primer 1200
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
KitMaker: 11,610 posts
Armorama: 7,843 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 01:07 AM UTC
I picked up a jar of this at a convention, last year. I have yet to try it. Do I need to thin it for air brushing? I assume it fills small gaps and went with 1200 to cut down on it washing out the detail. What pressure is recommended for spraying? Thanks guys and gals.
Tojo72
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 4,691 posts
Armorama: 3,509 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 01:58 AM UTC
Never tried the jar stuff,but I used the 1200 in the can,liked it,basically the same as thr Tamiya Fine in the can.
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 02:28 AM UTC
Unfortunately, I have no experience with Tamiya primers.
Lisec
Visit this Community
Croatia Hrvatska
KitMaker: 306 posts
Armorama: 282 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 07:48 AM UTC
You can thin it more if you like, to use it as a primer with their thinner or use it straight from the jar to cover up some blemishes.
I recommend you to try it as is if you have a light hand and do it in coats, works fine for me
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 07:58 AM UTC
Time to break out the practice kit.
chumpo
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 749 posts
Armorama: 521 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 03:06 PM UTC
You can thin it down with Mr Color thinner , add a bit of Mr Retarder mild and it's a great primer , after it cure it's durable and take the handling with no problems . Only drawback is the smell , it bothers a lot of people , but if it does not bother you it's a great primer . They also make this in black and a red oxide color .
retiredyank