_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Newbie needs airbrush paint color info
DiverDan
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 11 posts
Armorama: 7 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 08, 2014 - 03:28 PM UTC
Hi Gang, Newbie here. I want to start with some old M.A.S.H. 4077 models to practice on. My query is "what were the correct colors the military was using during the Korean war?" And, what airbrush ready paint is the easiest to use for a beginner. Are there brands out there,"ready to use," and have the right colors? or is mixing and thinners the only option.
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
KitMaker: 11,610 posts
Armorama: 7,843 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 08, 2014 - 07:07 PM UTC
I am unsure of the correct color, but I can help with paint lines. I prefer Tamiya acryls. The perform best, when mixed 1:1 with lacquer thinner. Any lacquer thinner is fine. Vallejo Model Air can be sprayed directly from the bottle. However, you may want to thin 1:3, water:paint. Model Master acrylic spray straight from the bottle and clean up with water. Both Vallejo and Model Master have extensive color options. If you go the Tamiya route, you may have to make custom mixes. It is worth it and you will have to learn to sooner or later. With all of the above paint lines, you should add a couple of drops of glass cleaner. This helps improve the flow. I use auto glass cleaner at $1 per jug. Also, I spray at 20psi. I hope this helps.
SdAufKla
Visit this Community
South Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 2,238 posts
Armorama: 2,158 posts
Posted: Thursday, October 09, 2014 - 12:20 AM UTC
The advantages of an air brush - infinite variety of colors and precise control over application - demand that the user must be able to manage the tasks of reducing (thinning) and mixing.