_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Best compressor and spray gun
SiStorey
Visit this Community
England - North East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 242 posts
Armorama: 161 posts
Posted: Saturday, October 11, 2014 - 07:01 AM UTC
Hi everyone, I've decided as I've just moved into my new house and have my very own "man room" I've decided I'm going to treat myself to a new compressor and spray gun.

So ladies and gentlemen, what is everyone's recommendation on what to buy??

AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 8,074 posts
Armorama: 3,293 posts
Posted: Saturday, October 11, 2014 - 08:11 AM UTC
I've been using an airbrush since 1982. Well earlier if you count the failure of a $15 one that could barely spray a wide pattern and could do nothing much smaller than a rattle can produces for edges.

I'm quite happy with the Grex's Tritium G (2013) and their compressor. This is also sold under the Andrea brand. Built in water trap and pressure adjustment and pretty quiet. The system has a quick release that can adapt to Paasche, Badger and Iwata brushes.

I also have a Badger 150 (2004) , a Paasche H (1982) and a Paasche VL (1991). The H is single, the others all dual action (the trigger controls air flow and paint. All still work fine and I use different brushes for different applications.

The Grex is gravity feed, the others are siphons. Gravity makes for easier cleaning and the allowance for just a drop or two of paint for quick touch ups.

I also have a 25 year old Sears compressor that works well but is very loud.

That said, every painter will swear by their brand. I'd only advise against any store brand, such as we have on this side of the pond Harbor Freight. These are dirt cheap but look like brand name brushes.
spoons
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 527 posts
Armorama: 500 posts