_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Question about problem with airbrushing?
Hisham
Visit this Community
Al Qahirah, Egypt / لعربية
KitMaker: 6,856 posts
Armorama: 6,363 posts
Posted: Friday, December 05, 2014 - 02:23 AM UTC
I hadn't airbrushed in a long time, then I tried to use a new double action AB (Not a well known brand - Spraymaster) and I had a hell of a time getting the paint out even when heavily thinned.. so, I reverted to my old Badger 350 single action just to try it out.. and I got the following results. Has anyone had any problems similar to this? Is the problem with my AB's or with my paints do you think? I have little experience with airbrushing, so I can't tell what the problem is

By the way, this is Vallejo grey primer.. tried it out of the bottle... thinned it a little with Vallejo thinner.. thinned it heavily.. nothing seems to work!

I'd appreciate any advice.. thank you
Hisham
didgeboy
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 1,846 posts
Armorama: 1,509 posts
Posted: Friday, December 05, 2014 - 06:13 AM UTC
Dont thin your primer. Try the primer again at about 25 to 30 psi with no thinner and see. If the primer is old it could be separating. Been having the same issue with mine.
grimmo
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 752 posts
Armorama: 569 posts
Posted: Friday, December 05, 2014 - 02:36 PM UTC
I have had this happen on some of my models. did you wash the model first?
Hisham
Visit this Community
Posted: Friday, December 05, 2014 - 02:50 PM UTC
Yes, I did wash it. That's what's driving me crazy.. it's that I've done everything I'm supposed to do as per all the articles I've read and the videos I've watched.. but nothing is working. The only thing left is the paints.. and they are kind of old.. so, the only thing I can do is order new paints.. and wait a month to get them before I can try again

Hisham
dommy20