_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Questions about Vallejo
flyers42
Visit this Community
Alabama, United States
KitMaker: 62 posts
Armorama: 60 posts
Posted: Saturday, December 06, 2014 - 02:34 AM UTC
Im new to using this,Im using field gray as a base and when it dries a notice a satin gloss, is this normal?

do you guys thin the Vallejo when brush painting?
abbatoys
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
KitMaker: 38 posts
Armorama: 22 posts
Posted: Saturday, December 06, 2014 - 03:15 AM UTC
Interested in this also as I just got some Vallejo to try for the first time..
SdAufKla
Visit this Community
South Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 2,238 posts
Armorama: 2,158 posts
Posted: Saturday, December 06, 2014 - 03:44 AM UTC
I thin my Vallejo paints quite a lot before painting.

Here's the formula that I use for my thinner:

1:1 water and Vallejo's proprietary thinner. To this mixture, I add 5% each, by volume, of an artist acrylic flow aide (Grumbacher, Golden, W&N, etc.) and Vallejo's Matt Medium. (You can also use any other artist acrylic matt medium, like Grumbacher, Golden, W&N, etc.)

When ever acrylic paints are thinned, you must always add back in the required acrylic binders. This is why Vallejo's thinner is milky colored. It has the additional binders in it. The Vallejo Matt Medium also has added binders, but it will also help the paint dry flat. If you don't add the required binders back into the thinned acrylic paints, they will be very fragile and have very little durability and handling resistance.

I keep a bottle of this thinner mixed up on my painting bench and use it to thin the Vallejo Model Color paints about 3:2, paint to thinner. Some colors will require more thinning and some maybe a little less. A lot depends on how old the paint is and how well it's been mixed.