Meng AMX-30B2
roteck
Visit this Community
Quebec, Canada
KitMaker: 274 posts
Armorama: 159 posts
Posted: Friday, January 23, 2015 - 08:33 PM UTC
Hey guys,

I'm going to do a build log of the latest AMX from Meng, the AMX-30B2. This build is for the "Hot Out of the Molds I" campaign. I will not comment on the accuracy (or lack of it!) of the kit as I am not an expert, but a casual model builder.

I built an AMX-30B2 (Heller kit + ADV conversion set) for a friend back in the 90's and after building it, I realized how bad both the kit and conversion set were, I refrained from building one for myself... until now, when I received my kit from Hobby-space.

Here we go...

I started by following the sequence laid out in the instruction and made the suspension. It took about 3 to 4 hours total.

The tracks will be time consuming, but I'm going to build them as I build the kit, in between steps, to cut on the boredom of making those! Be aware, too much cement and you won't be able to move them!

Some things on construction that I noticed:
- I had to remove the locator pins for the mufflers halves since they are not aligned with the holes.
- Part E1 = I removed the angled locating bar as it sits too high and stops the periscope from taking is proper place. If not removed, it will sit too low on the turret side/rear and will look weird. There will be a big gap behind it as well.

Cheers,

Christian
ahueger
Visit this Community
Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
KitMaker: 217 posts
Armorama: 214 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 24, 2015 - 02:05 AM UTC
looking good so far, I always had a soft spot for french armour keep it coming Christian!
HILBERT
Visit this Community
Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
KitMaker: 4,808 posts
Armorama: 1,069 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 24, 2015 - 03:58 AM UTC
As I have this kit in my stash too and I'm curious of your build. Hopefully you won't get a long some weird bits and misplacements.