_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: British Armor
Discuss all types of British Armor of all eras.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Sherman Mk III
pcavender
Visit this Community
South Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 51 posts
Armorama: 43 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 31, 2015 - 09:42 PM UTC
Can anyone tell me what is the length of the Sherman MkIII antenna? I'm new to modeling (2 months) now and I can't find information that describes the length. I am building the DML Sherman Mk III DV Initial Version?
tankmodeler
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 3,123 posts
Armorama: 2,539 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 31, 2015 - 10:25 PM UTC
Sherman III implies the No 19 set wireless. The 19 set had two receivers, the A and B sets and pretty much always had two aerials.

The A aerials were supplied in three 4 foot sections that were linked together depending upon what range you needed. They did not taper and were about 3/8" in diameter. They came in sets of 3 through 4 could be linked and used when the vehicle was stationary. Never more than 8", though, for a vehicle when moving.

The B set aerial was 20" x 1/4", one size only.

HTH

Paul
pcavender
Visit this Community
Posted: Saturday, January 31, 2015 - 11:28 PM UTC
Thanks for the info. Can you recommend a good reference book to add to my library?
iowabrit
Visit this Community
Iowa, United States
KitMaker: 585 posts
Armorama: 557 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 01, 2015 - 12:52 AM UTC
If you can find the Concord book 'British Sherman Tanks' by Denis Oliver that has some good photos and artwork.
tankmodeler
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Posted: Monday, February 02, 2015 - 11:10 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Thanks for the info. Can you recommend a good reference book to add to my library?

A referance for what, specifically?

Shermans? British Radios? Antennas? :-)

Paul
pcavender
Visit this Community
Posted: Monday, February 02, 2015 - 11:39 PM UTC