_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Pin Washes without Gloss Coat?
cabasner
Visit this Community
Nevada, United States
KitMaker: 1,083 posts
Armorama: 1,014 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 15, 2015 - 05:46 AM UTC
Is there any way to apply pin washes without first applying a gloss coat? I am at the point in my first Dragon 3535 M1A1 build where I've got the base coat on (Model Master Acryl Sand) and where I want to start applying washes. I know the 'standard process' is to put on a coat (or more than one) of Future, in preparation for oil washes to pick out details. I'm still relatively new to the hobby (THIS time) and wonder if there is any other method that would be somewhat more time saving than having to go through the glosscoat/wash/dull coat sequence. I'm pretty sure that the answer is no, but in the event that I've missed a technique that's out there, thought I'd see what all of you have to say.
didgeboy
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 1,846 posts
Armorama: 1,509 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 15, 2015 - 06:31 AM UTC
While I have not tried it myself, Michael Rinaldi has said that there is no need to apply gloss, and dull coats, that washes will work on any surface. The oils will flow better over gloss, but for small pin washes, the way I understand, they will work just fine.
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 17,694 posts
Armorama: 13,742 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 15, 2015 - 06:32 AM UTC
I always apply a pin wash over a dull finish. This allows the colored wash to realistically only follow seam lines and raised details, as opposed to flowing all over the place because the finish is smooth. It looks better in my opinion since it is more realistic as armored vehicles are flat when they get dirty.
Belt_Fed
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 1,388 posts
Armorama: 1,325 posts