_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
when to paint
funster63
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 8 posts
Armorama: 8 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 26, 2015 - 01:52 AM UTC
hello a newbie here
my question is when to paint , on the frames or when the model is complete. as I am getting myself a dragon sd.kfz.164 nashorn and as it is not a cheap model I want to do the best job I can on it , any tips please
SgtRam
Staff MemberContributing Writer
AEROSCALE
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 3,971 posts
Armorama: 2,859 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 26, 2015 - 02:33 AM UTC
Painting can be a personal approach for a lot. For me, it depends on the kit and/or vehicle. For truck,jeeps, etc, I tend to paint frame before mounting body, for open top AFV's, I build and paint interior before completing assembly and painting exterior. For tank I build minus the wheels and track, paint, then attach wheels and tracks for weathering.

You need to find what works for you.

funster63
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
Posted: Thursday, March 26, 2015 - 03:01 AM UTC
thanks for the reply
I have seen pics where people have wheels etc on stakes and paint them individually so not sure what will be best
DaGreatQueeg
Visit this Community
Napier, New Zealand
KitMaker: 1,049 posts
Armorama: 841 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 26, 2015 - 03:51 AM UTC
Hi Steve,

With the Dragon Nashorn you've picked a reasonably difficult kit to start with as depending on whether you brush or spray it might be difficult to get to some of the fighting compartment.

As Kevin suggested, assembling in stages might work best, painting each stage. Some things can certainly be painted on the sprue and touched up later, just be sure to scrape paint off any joints requiring glue.