_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Enamel airbrushing concerns
lonewolf117
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 3 posts
Armorama: 3 posts
Posted: Friday, April 03, 2015 - 06:39 AM UTC
Hey everyone, forums and enamel newbie here!

I have just switched from watercolor paints for airbrushing my tanks to Testors enamel for a fuller look, etc. I initially "texture" my models with Mr. Surfacer 1000. I have been using Armory's grey primer and am wondering if that, along with the surfacer is safe with the enamel and the included thinner.

The fate of my E-100 rests in your hands wise forum wizards.
SSGToms
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
KitMaker: 3,608 posts
Armorama: 3,092 posts
Posted: Friday, April 03, 2015 - 06:49 AM UTC
Hi Ben and welcome to Armorama! Mr. Surfacer is a lacquer. Armory grey primer is an enamel. Once it dries it is safe to airbrush other enamels over it. The Mr. Surfacer and Armory won't react since they are two different mediums.
So, once the Armory grey has cured for 3 days, airbrush away with the enamels!
However, I would suggest going with some of the new acrylics like Tamiya, Lifecolor or Ammo. They're not like older acrylics and really have excellent performace, quicker drying time, and are MUCH safer for you! With Ammo you have the advantage of an entire system built together from primer to final pigments.
lonewolf117
Visit this Community
Posted: Friday, April 03, 2015 - 10:14 AM UTC
Thanks for the help! I'm running on a bit of a budget right now, but I'll definitely look into the suppliers you reccomended for future projects.
firstcircle
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,249 posts
Armorama: 2,007 posts
Posted: Friday, April 03, 2015 - 12:32 PM UTC
Ben, be sure to always wear a vapour mask when airbrushing enamels or lacquer thinner.
lonewolf117
Visit this Community