_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Damage
Jared185
Visit this Community
Kentucky, United States
KitMaker: 13 posts
Armorama: 13 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 25, 2015 - 06:07 AM UTC
Hey all,
Ok so I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to building and painting tanks lol. But I'm hooked I've built two so far. And both look good. My question is this. I built and painted a 1/72 scale jagdpanther and it looks really good I added a few things to it like braided wire instead of plastic that shaped like a tow rope. Anyway I decided to do a diorama with it and I picked up a few Sherman's an m3 lee and a tiger today. So anyway I made the jagdpanther look like it had been damaged in battle used a small drill bit for bullet holes and based the damage I seem to the front fenders and the side skirts off a real tank I seen. Now I wanted to make it look like it had a fire in engine compartment since that's where I put the penetration holes. But I'm scared to mess up the paint work o did which looks perfect is there an easy way to blacken the rear of the tank up so it looks like it burned without getting to complicated. I'm a noob with paint and am brush painting
sdk10159
Visit this Community
Oregon, United States
KitMaker: 556 posts
Armorama: 433 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 25, 2015 - 08:18 AM UTC
If you don't want to use paint to make the blackened area, I think the best bet would be to use pigments.
You can buy pigments, such as MIG's online, but you can also use artists chalks which you grind up. That's usually the cheapest method.

Which ever route you choose, you're going to mess up your paint work.

Steve
dommy20
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 133 posts
Armorama: 40 posts
Posted: Saturday, July 25, 2015 - 09:12 AM UTC