_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Modern - USA
Modern Armor, AFVs, and Support vehicles.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Tamiya M1A2
JoeyKast44
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 144 posts
Armorama: 124 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 11:15 AM UTC
Hi I have two questions about the Tamiya M1A2, firstly is this model suitable with the aid of conversion sets for a Marine M1 serving in Helmand Province in Afghanistan and secondly what conversion sets would I need?
Foxtrot1
Visit this Community
Gauteng, South Africa
KitMaker: 234 posts
Armorama: 200 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 11:53 AM UTC
I am no expert on the Abrams, but I have looked into some advice that others have given.

Not sure about after market kits, but the Academy M1A1 Abrams Iraq 2003 kit has some very useful USMC parts (the barrel is too short, and the tracks are the older 1980's type in the kit). You can add those to the Tamiya M1A2.

Heavyarty could really be of assistance here, I have read some of his comments on the Academy M1A1. I honestly don't know more than that.
Removed by original poster on 10/15/15 - 07:00:24 (GMT).
bison126
Visit this Community
Correze, France
KitMaker: 5,329 posts
Armorama: 5,204 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 12:57 PM UTC
Tamiya M1A2 OIF kit contains all the bits to do a USMC tank.
Turning it into a Helmand Abrams is another point I can't really help you with.

Olivier
Cuny12
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 378 posts
Armorama: 348 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 01:42 PM UTC
I believe the missile counter measure device was removed you will need additionally the bustle rack extension, ECM antennae loaders tusk shields for the 240, I'm also not one hundred percent but I believe they were fitted with the belly armour.
Check out perfect scale modelbau they have a set available that covers most if not all of the mods you will need.

Cheers Ben.
tanknick22
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 1,139 posts
Armorama: 1,100 posts