_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas
Do you love dioramas & vignettes? We sure do.
Fallschirmjäger with Kettenkrad, Crete 1941
Molentik
Visit this Community
Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
KitMaker: 112 posts
Armorama: 97 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 20, 2015 - 06:56 AM UTC
Hello all,

I am currently starting a new project; a vignette of a Fallschirmjager in Crete in 1941. I thought it would be nice to make this a build log because I'm still learning and this way I can incorporate tips and advice during my build.

The idea is to have have the FJ leaning against his Kettenkrad and taking a smoking break. I will use Dragon's early Kettenkrad (box 6341) that is sadly not an early one but mid/late war. This means I'll have to backdate some of the features like the air intake in the back and making the holes in the roadwheels bigger. Behind the Kettenkrad will be a double axle trailer that I will have to scratchbuild, that is something new for me so I'm quite excited! I will probably be asking a lot of questions during this project, so please bear with me!

This is the photo that served as the inspiration for this project.

Because I am still sourcing some parts for the Kettenkrad and trailer I've started with the figure. I am trying to get the little guy more to resin standard by undercutting details like the sleeves, pocket flaps, Y-straps etc.

This is my first properly kitbashed figure, taking parts from 4 different plastic figures, plus a Hornet head.

The body is a Dragon Gen2 figure from kit 6373, with arms from two different figures from Dragon box 6456.

The head and helmet are tacked on at the moment so I can paint them easier.

The 1st pattern jumpboots are from Zvesda's box 3628, I still have to tone down the laces as they are a little bit too pronounced at the moment imo.