_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas
Do you love dioramas & vignettes? We sure do.
Simulating shore line water
pnance26
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 766 posts
Armorama: 518 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 23, 2016 - 10:40 PM UTC
I apologize if I am posting a redundant question but I am a newbie when it comes to water.

I am planning a beach front diorama of a tank on the shoreline and need to replicate the water washing up onto the beach.

Is there a tutorial on this somewhere? The look is a little foam and some uneven water line with just a few inches of ocean showing... Water would be about 12" by 5" most in front of the subject...

All help appreciated and thanks in advance!
TAFFY3
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 2,531 posts
Armorama: 859 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 23, 2016 - 11:14 PM UTC
Something like this?

There are several ways to go. A lot depends on how deep you want the water to be. Woodland Scenics makes a product called 'Realistic Water'. It would be the easiest to use. Then there is two-part resin, which is better for filling larger, deeper areas.

Note that the water comes up much higher in the second photo.The downside to resin is that it generates heat while curing and can damage the model. You need to pour it in thin layers, about 1/8 inch, and allow it to cure thoroughly before pouring the next layer. Both materials will dry level, so you will need to build up the waves. You can use acrylic artist's gel for this. Both the Realistic Water, resin and the acrylic gel can be tinted. The resin will darken with age so go lighter than what you want the final color to be. Hope this helps. Al
pnance26
Visit this Community
Posted: Sunday, January 24, 2016 - 05:50 AM UTC
That is very much like the look only the vehicle will be on the dry area with the water in front as if the vehicle were looking out to sea.

Thank you for your help.
TAFFY3
Visit this Community
New York, United States