_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
REVIEW
Rye Field Model Tiger I Early
firstcircle
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,249 posts
Armorama: 2,007 posts
Posted: Monday, February 08, 2016 - 04:42 AM UTC
Adie Roberts follows up Darren Baker's earlier in box review with a full build review of Rye Field Model's Tiger I Ausf.E Early, including some diorama work at the end.

Link to Item

If you have comments or questions please post them here.

Thanks!
MZ3
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 229 posts
Armorama: 32 posts
Posted: Monday, February 08, 2016 - 06:19 AM UTC
OK, I haven't posted here in a REALLY long time, but I feel like chime in on this one...

This model sucks. I've been building for 30 years and I've never had such a horrible experience building something like this. Every part had to be worked, filed, sanded or cut to make fit. That's not normal. Nothing on the hull fit properly. Nothing on the turret fit properly. About half of the wheels weren't the same size as the rest. Major gaps all over, more then what is considered normal.

Now, it could very well be I just got a bad copy. For me, I think a Dragon or Tamiya kit would be better.
Byrden
Visit this Community
Wien, Austria
KitMaker: 2,233 posts
Armorama: 2,221 posts
Posted: Monday, February 08, 2016 - 01:07 PM UTC
Interesting to see a build from a naive user who brings a fresh eye to the subject, unaffected by the last 20 years of research.
But I want to correct that comment about RAL 8020. We have solid evidence that these Tigers arrived in RAL 7008 / RAL 8000 camouflage. In some cases they were "touched up" with RAL 8020 where new parts were added, such as the Feifels or turret bins; but the overall colour was much like what you see in Bovington Museum's example.

David
SDavies
Visit this Community
KitMaker: 979 posts
Armorama: 959 posts
Posted: Monday, February 08, 2016 - 01:21 PM UTC

Quoted Text