_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: IDF [Israeli Defense Forces]
Armor and AFVs of the IDF army from 1947-today.
Hosted by Darren Baker
A noob tries building the Tamiya M51
noobking
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 31 posts
Armorama: 31 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 05:09 AM UTC
Title says it all.
After a 40 plus year break from building, I will try to start again with the Tamiya M51 Sherman kit.
I am a noob and longtime lurker who has taken the plunge, and am clueless as to even what kind of glue is good!
However, I have wanted to model the Israeli Sherman for many years, and so I just ordered a copy of the Tamiya 35323 M51.
Any advice/guidance to building this kit will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!
Tojo72
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 4,691 posts
Armorama: 3,509 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 11, 2016 - 05:18 AM UTC
I built it a few years ago,not much to say basic shake and bake Tamiya kit.It is a fairly new kit with new molding,builds up very nice,here is an online blog,not mine.

http://modelerssocialclub.proboards.com/thread/3652/building-tamiyas-m51-super-sherman

Here is mine,not as extensive

http://s180.photobucket.com/user/tojo72/library/Tamiya%20Isherman
noobking
Visit this Community
United States
Posted: Friday, August 12, 2016 - 03:32 AM UTC
What color is appropriate for the M51 Sherman?
Thanks in advance!
noobking
Visit this Community
United States
Posted: Friday, August 12, 2016 - 03:32 AM UTC

Quoted Text

I built it a few years ago,not much to say basic shake and bake Tamiya kit.It is a fairly new kit with new molding,builds up very nice,here is an online blog,not mine.

http://modelerssocialclub.proboards.com/thread/3652/building-tamiyas-m51-super-sherman

Here is mine,not as extensive

http://s180.photobucket.com/user/tojo72/library/Tamiya%20Isherman

Thanks for your reply.
Tojo72
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 4,691 posts
Armorama: 3,509 posts