_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas
Do you love dioramas & vignettes? We sure do.
To paint or not to paint (dirt that is)?
Marty
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 2,312 posts
Armorama: 1,054 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 23, 2002 - 09:03 PM UTC
I have a question for all of you diorama building maniacs ; Why do modelers paint dirt to make it look more like dirt? I have been building models on and off for about 20 years now. I have done only few dioramas so naturally I do a lot of research on techniques that others use, trying to learn new tricks. One thing that I see time and time again is that after a layer of dirt (actual dirt from outside) is applied it then gets painted, repainted, dry brushed, washed and so on and so forth. I ask this question, WHY? What is wrong with the natural color (grayish brown) that dirt comes in? The only time I would see a reason to paint the dirt is if the dio theme places it somewhere in Vietnam where dirt was orange/red clay or some other place with weird colored ground. I guess, I am just curious.

Cheers
Marty
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
Armorama: 7,138 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 23, 2002 - 09:45 PM UTC
Marty,
Here's my take and my experience on Painting Dirt.

Dirt Source and Scale have a lot to do with it. For me here in North Carolina if I use true dirt I don't get much variety in color and the dirt I get may not match the location I am depicting. My dirt tends to be very red from clay or tan from sand.