_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Does Vallejo Model Color need straining?
Cocat2517
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 23 posts
Armorama: 18 posts
Posted: Monday, February 06, 2017 - 12:15 PM UTC
Hi
I'm fairly new to modelling, been doing it for about a year in what little spare time I have. Mostly 1/72 but building an Acadamy 1/35 King Tiger at the minute.

Everything so far has been brush painted but I'm just getting into experimenting with AB. I have the Foxhunter AS186 compressor and a cheapy £20 airbrush off Amazon to get me started & learn on (only painting cheap kids toys out a charity shop for practice at the minute).

I'm finding Vallejo Model Color (and my Tamiya) really difficult to work with. I think theyre clogging the AB? If I'm lucky I'll get a couple of seconds of paint then nothing, just air, or maybe a tiny amount of paint I hold the AB point right against what I'm painting.

I'm mixing paint with distilled water, about a 1:2 ratio (milky consistency) and spraying. I know the cheap airbrush probably isn't helping, but would straining the paint help, assuming that clogging is the problem?

I've ordered some Vallejo flow improver and airbrush cleaner. But should I strain the paint and if so how? Any other tips also welcome!

Thank you!
Pete l
Epi
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 3,586 posts
Armorama: 2,556 posts
Posted: Monday, February 06, 2017 - 01:09 PM UTC
Valejo Model Air is supposed be ready for airbrush use right out of the bottle. But some tips on straining is:

Use a panty hose. The fine mesh is good for straining.

As for Tamiya paints, I use Isopropyl alcohol to thin because it is cheap. All I do is open the bottle when first bought and fill to the top with the alcohol, stir and shake.
TigerTiger
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 50 posts
Armorama: 31 posts