_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum: Cold War Soviet Armor
For discussions related to cold war era Russo-Soviet armor.
A query on T-64 and T-80 hulls
AotrsCommander
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 9 posts
Armorama: 9 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 02, 2017 - 07:50 PM UTC
Hi. I wonder if I could pick the expertise of the fine ladies and gentleman of the forum? (I think this would be the right place to do that!)

As this is my first post here, I perahps ought to introduce myself a bit. I am a 3D print CAD modeller (for about five years now), who does primarily 144th scale models for wargaming, predominatly moderns (and sci-fi and starships, but that's not relevant here); I have a webstore on Shapeways, (Aotrs Shipyards).

I am far from an expert (the work on modern AFVs I do is principally "work" as opposed to what I got started in 3D printing it for, which was the scifi bit, which is "fun"). While like most wargamers, I have some knowledge of tanks, since I started doing this, I have found I've learned a great deal! (Since it always helps to know what that thing you are modelling actually IS; and one can then apply that knowledge back to one's scifi vehicles, too!)

I work primarily from finding technical drawings and walkarounds (mostly located through google iamge search), but I often find myself looking at kits (especially 1/35th) for details not readily visible on most photos (like top-down shots, or the shape of engine blocks or the underside of hulls). I have found nerly always one Armorama thread via the image search, often someone doing a build of one form or another, which I find not only helpful for just the pictures, but the discussion of what bit is right and wrong. The level of detail is far above what I could even attempt to work at (the limitations of both 10/12mm and 3D printing), but the expertise is invaluably helpful!