_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Airbrush cleaning question
newstarter
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 26 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Saturday, March 06, 2004 - 09:59 AM UTC
Hello
I have an Iwata gravity feed airbrush and i am having some problems cleaning it.
I am a beginner to airbrushing and have only been testing it out on scraps of plastic with mixed results.
When i come to the cleaning i can strip it down and swab it out with the cleaning solution(tamiya thinners), but 2 things i cannot do are clean out the tube/channel between the paint cup and the opening that the needle comes out of, and cleaning the channel behind the paint cup where it goes into the body of the airbrush. I have tried pipe cleaners but they don't want to go more than a few mm into the openings.
When i put my needle back into the airbrush, it comes out with a coating of paint from areas that i cannot reach!
Any help appreciated.

PS the paint i am using are Tamiya acrylics and Model air from Vallejo.
Merlin
Staff MemberSenior Editor
AEROSCALE
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 17,582 posts
Armorama: 903 posts
Posted: Saturday, March 06, 2004 - 10:29 AM UTC
Hi there

I don't know if it'll help in this case, but an "intra-dental" brush is great for cleaning airbrushes! It's available from dentists, and elsewhere, and is a miniature scrubbing bush.

Also, flooding thinners right through the airbrush body does no harm...

All the best

Rowan
JBM
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 16 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 07, 2004 - 06:34 PM UTC
I'm not sure how your brush disassembles but with my brush I can soak a small thinner soaked piece of tissue and push it from the front (with the tip off) into the cup and remove it with tweezers. I use an old airbrush needle to push it through.
Hope it'll help you.
JBM :-)
scoccia
Visit this Community
Milano, Italy
KitMaker: 2,606 posts