_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
Dry Brushing
DinnerOut
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 3 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 30, 2002 - 10:40 AM UTC
I'm new to the modelling scene. Could someone explain to me what drybrushing is and the best method to use...

Thanks,
DinnerOut
AndersHeintz
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 2,250 posts
Armorama: 464 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 30, 2002 - 11:05 AM UTC
Hola Dinner!!!
Welcome to the site!
As for the best way of doing it, it all depends on what medium etc you are using, and Im sure that everybody have a certain way of doing it, so I'll tell you what I do.
Using a large pretty soft brush, dip it in the paint, roll it aorund so you have paint all over, then take the brush and brush something with it, I normally use an old wood block that I have the model mounted on, I know some people use paper towels, but Im sure anything that will rub the major part of the paint off will work. Now you should have a brush with "dry" paint on it, i.e. very little amount of paint. then take this and gently brush the surface that your'e wanting to get some contrast on, make sure you try this on some practise model(s) before the "real" thing so you wont get too much the first time, its essentially a trail and error testing phase you need to test and see what works for you and what results you are looking for. Hope this has been of some help, Im sure some of the other guys will help also!
Again, welcome to the site!
ladymodelbuilder
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 1,218 posts
Armorama: 401 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 30, 2002 - 11:12 AM UTC
Welcome to ya, DinnerOut ! Glad to have ya aboard... I use drybrushing for bringing out the detail on the instrument panels on my aircraft models... It does better that strainning to paint every little line with a toothpick....
Eagle
Visit this Community
Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
KitMaker: 4,082 posts