_GOTOBOTTOM
Constructive Feedback
For in-progress or completed build photos. Give and get contructive feedback!
BDT-35
JamesL27
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 202 posts
Armorama: 199 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 02, 2018 - 12:09 AM UTC
I don't post much, but I thought I'd share this one since it's such an oddball.

I like Russian stuff, interwar-early WWII vehicles, and armored trains. So when I saw this kit come out I had to buy it.

Unfortunately the kit is a bit rough. Details are soft, few location marks, poor fit, tons of flash, missing details, etc... Being a relatively young modeler I'm used to better engineered kits, so this one sat on the shelf for a while.

It's the only game in town though if you need to build it. There are 1/35 plans in a Russian book on self propelled rail cars for the more adventurous among us, but I'm not at that scratch-building skill level yet.

Here's where I'm at so far,

I just had to go ahead and test the camo pattern on the turret since I think those stripes are pretty interesting. I assume the logic for this was to make it hard for pilots to discern the rail car from the track

For any would be builders of this kit, a metal barrel and an aftermarket (or a spare Hobby Boss) T-26 turret would do this kit some good.

Comments and crits welcome.
JamesL27
Visit this Community
United States
Posted: Thursday, May 03, 2018 - 03:53 AM UTC
Work continues. Main model has been primed, lightly preshaded and base coated green.

Next up will be camo masking and painting
KoSprueOne
Visit this Community
Myanmar
KitMaker: 4,011 posts
Armorama: 1,498 posts
Posted: Thursday, May 03, 2018 - 06:14 AM UTC
Great build here. I must find and purchase one of these kits as well!

JamesL27
Visit this Community
United States
Posted: Friday, May 04, 2018 - 04:52 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Great build here. I must find and purchase one of these kits as well!

Thank you. Best bet is probably Ebay if you want this kit

A minor disaster tonight,