_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
Most common mistakes?
Dubanka
Visit this Community
Alabama, United States
KitMaker: 152 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, July 01, 2002 - 10:29 PM UTC
If you have been following, I'm a newbie back to modelling. I'm currently building a tamiya M4 (early) and an italeri M4A1(76) Looking at the galleries, I noticed that I have a LOT to learn before I get to the caliber that some of you are at.

What do you feel are common mistakes that people make regarding the M4 Sherman and Variants?

Remember, its been years since my last real attempt, so all comments are welcome.

Thanks, John
210cav
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 6,149 posts
Armorama: 4,573 posts
Posted: Monday, July 01, 2002 - 10:34 PM UTC
John--armor modeling is a planned, patient activity. I look at the plans, get some photos together of the actual equipment, wash the parts trees, and follow the instructions. The biggest error I make is when I fail to sequentially follow the instructions. I usual find myself in a bind in skipping steps because some parts will not fit after you cement something together....stay the course and you'll do fine.
Hope this helps.
DJ
Dubanka
Visit this Community
Alabama, United States
Posted: Monday, July 01, 2002 - 10:56 PM UTC
Thanks for the reply. I'm a fairly competent modeler, but I guess the questions were asked wrong.

What I was looking for was things that are overlooked.....IE simulating the cast steel on tranny covers, not filling in the gap on the ammo ejection hatch to make it look like its cast in,, etc.

I'm currently taking as many photo's as I can of all of the vehicles on Ft Knox so they can be posted as reference photos here.
Greg
Visit this Community
Oregon, United States
KitMaker: 455 posts
Armorama: 298 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 02, 2002 - 12:19 AM UTC