_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas
Do you love dioramas & vignettes? We sure do.
Night time tank crew
ArtistaSLO
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 56 posts
Armorama: 46 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 23, 2004 - 03:35 AM UTC
As I am new to this, I have no reference. WW2 - In the field, where would a tank crew sleep? Beside the tank? With a sentry posted(I assume)? Would they set up a tent-like structure off of the tank?(my idea) What about others, or would they be alone? What kind of lights did they use at night? Lanterns? Flashlights? If the flashlights, standard shape, or that L-shaped one I have seen (or isthat viet-nam? Any other nighttime things I otta know about? I am working something out idea wise..and I am going to push the color envelope. Thx in advance.
greatbrit
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,127 posts
Armorama: 1,217 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 23, 2004 - 03:48 AM UTC
im not sure about WW2,

the tent idea may have some merit.

i have a good book on the warrior mcv, with a few pics of troops sleeping in sleeping bags on the engine side of the tank. as it gives of heat for hours after it has been turned off.

i would imagine that WW2 tankers would sleep behind the tank. under or close to the engine deck

cheers

joe
m60a3
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
KitMaker: 778 posts
Armorama: 396 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 23, 2004 - 05:31 AM UTC
From pictures and from first hand experience:
I have seen where a crew extended a tent half off the side of a tank, somewhat like an awning. There is a fairly famous one with a German Tiger crew sleeping UNDAR the vehicle, in a shallow trench over which the tank was parked.