_GOTOBOTTOM
Figures
Military figures of all shapes and sizes.
White metal figures from verlinden
Phillipjl
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 18 posts
Armorama: 18 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 01, 2019 - 08:10 AM UTC
With the help of some friendly modelers here, I was able to locate a set of DAK figures I have been searching for. I ordered them, and they have arrived, however, they are unexpectedly made of metal. Ok, no big deal, but I have a couple questions, as I have never dealt with metal figures.
1) is CA glue strong enough to use for assembly, or should I go with something like 5 minute epoxy?
2) painting process is as usual? I have Mr. Surfacer 1000, and Tamiya, or Vallejo acrylics.
3) they are just busts of figures to protrude from open hatches of a Pz. IV, any ideas how they are to be fixed into position on the vehicle?
Thanks again for the help, it’s great to have a place to ask questions, as I am still learning a great deal.
Happy Modeling!
marcb
Visit this Community
Overijssel, Netherlands
KitMaker: 1,244 posts
Armorama: 1,226 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 01, 2019 - 08:53 AM UTC
These are beautifull figures, just a little larger than 1/35 IIRC. When I used them (a long time ago) I used regular ca.
You can fe add an additional hole and rod, and/ or epoxy for added strenghth. You can add a stand to the figure, made from a piece of plastic plate and plastic rod (drill a hole in the bottom of the figure). Clean up with fine steel wool and prime with fe Tamiya grey metal primer.

Enjoy.
Tojo72
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 4,691 posts
Armorama: 3,509 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 01, 2019 - 08:57 AM UTC
Yes CA glue is strong enough
Yes Mr Surfacer Primer and Vallejo will work for you
They may be able to just sit in the hatches without falling,after all once your done the model will be sitting on your shelf.Or you may need a spot of carefully placed CA to secure them.
Phillipjl
Visit this Community
United States