_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Painting on the sprue?
mkultra
Visit this Community
New Zealand
KitMaker: 13 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 04, 2002 - 12:07 PM UTC
I'm a newbie so please be kind

Recently starting 1/35 modelling again after a break of a few years.

And I have a question regarding painting, specifically is it better to paint kits on the plastic sprue? Or remove the parts first then paint? Or a combination?

I've been using the combination method (small bits painted on the sprue, larger parts off) but what are you guys opinions?

Thanks
2-2dragoon
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 608 posts
Armorama: 268 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 04, 2002 - 12:38 PM UTC
I think you are on the right track with your approach. I do much the same most of the time. Once in a while I will assemble 100% and paint, but not often. You have to be careful about the gluing of the small parts when you do this, making sure you scratch off the paint at points of contact.
Eagle
Visit this Community
Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
KitMaker: 4,082 posts
Armorama: 1,993 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 04, 2002 - 01:16 PM UTC
I cut off all the parts from the sprue. Then after sanding, filing etc. I glue the parts with some white glue to a wooden stick. The advantages of this method are:

* Parts are "done" before they are painted. So they're filed sanded etc.
* Good grip while painting, you dont have to touch the parts before and during painting
* You can easily disconnect the part from the wooden stick and.....where the white glue was before on the part...there's now nothing left, so no glue, no paint. This comes in handy when you have to glue the parts to the model.

In this link is an example of how this looks :

http://groups.msn.com/armorama/eaglecorner.msnw?action=ShowPhoto&PhotoID=53
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States