_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Axis - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Axis forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Ryfield or Takom Jagdpanther
cwo-3
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 109 posts
Armorama: 75 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 25, 2019 - 05:19 PM UTC
Not knowing a durn thing about WWII German armor, I would like to get some opinions on both kits. I have decided to go to the dark side and build a Jagdpanther with interior. I would say I am an experienced builder but not an expert. I build for myself, not contests.

I am more interested in fit and accuracy. I like to dig into the history of a particular vehicle and would like the kit to represent a NW European vehicle maybe with Zimmerit.

Thanks in advance for your replies.
ijozic
Armorama: 109 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 25, 2019 - 05:51 PM UTC
If you want a Zimmerit coated one, it should be an early G1 model as they stopped using it when the G2 went in the production.

Currently, only Takom has an early/mid production G1 with Zimmerit released so that's the one to go for (they also have a late one without Zimmerit IIRC). I guess it's also an easier build with much less PE parts compared to the RF one.

There are build threads on both Takom and RF JagdPanthers on this very forum so you can compare them.
d111298pw
Visit this Community
Oklahoma, United States
KitMaker: 654 posts
Armorama: 638 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 25, 2019 - 10:38 PM UTC
You can have a look and my RFM build log here to get an idea of whats in this kit.
https://armorama.kitmaker.net/forums/277466

Once of the big differences between the Takom and RFM kits is that RFM uses a lot more PE in their version. So, if you aren't a fan of PE, then get the Takom version.
spongya
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
MODELGEEK
Visit this Community
Budapest, Hungary
KitMaker: 2,365 posts
Armorama: 1,709 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 25, 2019 - 11:38 PM UTC