_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Axis - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Axis forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
best 1/35 king tiger
sphyrna
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 379 posts
Armorama: 150 posts
Posted: Friday, September 27, 2019 - 06:24 PM UTC
So many choices! (and so pages pages searched through on this forum! and google searches...)

Which might be the best 1/35 King Tiger (Tiger II) in Henschel turret or Porsche?

I'm not too familiar with the quality of Hobby Boss, Takom or Meng. I know Dragon makes the Tiger II but maybe these other guys are good quality? (actually not familiar with Dragon's 1/35 Tiger II quality either... I've built one or two of their 1/72 models a decade ago...)

I'm an intermediate modeler, nor looking to kit-bash or modify too much, mostly just add a little bit of PE.

Not looking to build with interior.
Accuracy counts, but build quality and fit win out over super accurate (if that makes sense )
I'd add some PE, and I see some kits like Meng have PE engine screens, etc (not really looking to do the PE tool holder/ water can locking lever thing, my eyes are almost 53!)
Tracks - either a kit with well done tracks or the option to buy AM metal tracks.
I usually spend most of my time nowadays squinting at 1/350 ships, but have the bug to do a nice Tiger II and enjoy the build.
Also - it looks like some of those out there Meng, are below $35 - Don't want to go cheap, but budget is also a consideration.

Thanks for any info!!!

ctkwok
Visit this Community
Alabama, United States
KitMaker: 197 posts
Armorama: 183 posts
Posted: Friday, September 27, 2019 - 11:30 PM UTC