_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Painting road wheels & accessories
UpperCanadian
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 152 posts
Armorama: 133 posts
Posted: Friday, July 03, 2020 - 11:55 AM UTC
Hi all,

I have a question. I'm fairly new to armour modelling.

My inclination is to paint road wheels and accessories and then attach them to the vehicle once they've been painted, and the base coat is on the vehicle.

But I've seen many videos and photos by vastly more experienced modellers who seem to construct the entire kit, road wheels and accessories included. I guess they paint the details after.

I thought about this, but it seems like painting the rubber on the road wheels, for example, would be difficult when attached.

Is this just a matter of personal preference, or is there some advantage to assembling everything first that I'm not seeing?

Thanks in advance,

Nathan.
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 1,051 posts
Armorama: 1,029 posts
Posted: Friday, July 03, 2020 - 12:40 PM UTC
Nathan,

It pretty much is a matter of personal preference. Me personally, I leave the running gear off until until all the painting is done. I mask off the ends of the torsion bars and the holes on the back of the road wheels. Sometimes that little bit of paint can make things tight enough to risk breaking the ends off the torsion bars.

But like I said, it's a personal preference. You'll probably get all sorts of different answers.

Good luck with your work! Be sure to post lots of pictures!

TopSmith
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 1,742 posts
Armorama: 1,658 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 07, 2020 - 05:18 PM UTC
I can't figure out how you can paint a kit after it is completely built. However that is how the actual vehicle is painted.
petbat
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia