_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Further questions (sorry to be a bother)
UpperCanadian
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 152 posts
Armorama: 133 posts
Posted: Friday, July 10, 2020 - 03:22 PM UTC
I'm really new at this, so there are lots of things I'm trying to learn.

First: how the heck do you get the pieces off the bloody sprues without damage? I have a pair of sprue clippers, but I still often seem to damage the plastic. I never see any marks on experienced modellers work however. Do they have a technique, or do they just sand and fill any damage?

Second: dust effects? Suppose I'm building a tank in the summer dust at Kursk. I have some 'dust effect' in grey by AK products. But what's the best way to apply it? Like a wash? Should pigments go on first, or after?

Third: chipping effects. Some people suggest hairspray and then actually rubbing off some paint. Or, some people suggest using a sponge to paint on simulated chips. What's easiest for a rookie like me?

Thanks in advance,

Nathan.
RobinNilsson
Staff MemberTOS Moderator
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Stockholm, Sweden
KitMaker: 6,693 posts
Armorama: 5,562 posts
Posted: Friday, July 10, 2020 - 10:25 PM UTC
First question:

The cutters should have cutting edges as illustraded above. When these cut they exert force upwards, the sloping edges pushes the material upwards. The straight lower edges do not push downwards.
Styrene plastic will stretch and "flow" under pressure.
Pressure comes from cutting and depends on how the volumes of plastic are located in relation to the cutting edges.