_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
New to PE, I need tips, tricks, HELP!
Dubanka
Visit this Community
Alabama, United States
KitMaker: 152 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 23, 2002 - 09:51 PM UTC
Have a PE set coming in with my Firefly Vc, and since this will be my first attempt at using PE, I need some help.

I assume that you attatch with CA, is there another alternative?

As far as bending, I know that there is a small metal brake available, but out of budget. What else can be used?

Any other tips or tricks that you may have are also welcome. Remember, this is my first time using PE, so even the simplest things will help tremendously.

Thanks, John
Epi
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 3,586 posts
Armorama: 2,556 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 23, 2002 - 09:55 PM UTC
I use CA glue for my PE, but i also herd os using clear lacquer for gluing down real small parts. The tools i use are a good pair of straight tweezers, a small steel ruler, a small pair of needle nose pliers without teeth, and a exacto blade.
THE MAIN THING TO REMEMBER IS LOTSOF PATIENCE!!!!!!!!
avukich
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 760 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 23, 2002 - 10:40 PM UTC
A trick I use when gluing PE with CA glue is to get a piece of wax paper and place a small puddle of CA glue on it. You then trasfer the glue to the PE part with a pin. Since CA glue hardens thanks to moisture, placing it on wax paper will allow it to stay unhardened for hours. I create the puddle on the wax paper and can model for 2 -3 hours and it will not have gotten any thicker yet.