_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
Friul Tracks and resin questions
SS-74
Visit this Community
Vatican City
KitMaker: 3,271 posts
Armorama: 2,388 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 28, 2002 - 10:29 AM UTC
Hi guys,

It's my first time working with both Friul tracks and Resins, so I have a couple questions to ask. Hope you guys can help me out.

Friul Tracks:

While assemble the tracks, the tracks feel kinda of greasy/oily, so I suppose wash them is a must, what do I wash these tracks in, should I do it after I assembled the whole tracks or do it in individual links?

Resin:

I am using super glue to glue the resin stuff, but it seems that it takes forever to dry, is there any way to do it, or I am using the wrong kind of glue?

Thanks guys!
MLD
Visit this Community
Vermont, United States
KitMaker: 3,569 posts
Armorama: 2,070 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 28, 2002 - 11:06 AM UTC
For the fruil track, most any grease cutting dish washing liquid is good in my book.

For resin, superglue is good, but accellerator is great! You should be able to find it in the super clue section of the hobbyshop, usually in a pump spray bottle.
I ding this and use a small brush to paint the accellerator above the glued parts and let the acc run down over. Either that or if I'm getting lazy, just unscrew the top of the pump and use the tubing end from inside the bottle to put the drop of acc where I need it.

I also read a tip somewhere to glue very very thin plastic sheet to the resin parts w superglue off the vehicle. Then use your reg model glue to glue the plastic to plastic joint of the bottom of the now plastic-covered bottom of the resin part. It sounds great in theory, but I haven't tried it out yet.
HTH
Mike
Folgore
Visit this Community
Canada
KitMaker: 1,109 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, July 28, 2002 - 11:07 AM UTC

Quoted Text