_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Seperate track links??
Hisham
Visit this Community
Al Qahirah, Egypt / لعربية
KitMaker: 6,856 posts
Armorama: 6,363 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 - 03:06 AM UTC
I'm trying to get back into modelling after years of just watching from a distance. I'm planning on building a Dragon (Shilka), and that will be the first time I tackle seperate track links. What would be the most practical order for building them and painting them, and the road wheels. Keep in mind that I'm a beginner. I kind of need something like (The idiot's guide to seperate track links). Thanks.
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 17,694 posts
Armorama: 13,742 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 - 05:15 AM UTC
This is how I build them. I build the sections a link at a time, flat on the workbench. Start by building the bottom run of tracks in one long section, next do the same with the top run. Now build the two sections that angle up at either end as flat pieces, then attach them to the bottom run. Next, I assemble the 4 or 5 links that go around the return road wheel and sprocket. These I attach to the upper run. I paint the whole model wothout the track. I also paint and weather the track with it off the model. Once all this is dry, slip the upper track in place and glue the upper and lower sections together. For the glou, I use liquid cement to glue all the links together. I attach the upper and lower section using super glue.
Hope that makes sense.
Hisham
Visit this Community
Posted: Tuesday, August 10, 2004 - 06:02 AM UTC