_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
M1A1 question
blackwolf
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 68 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, September 13, 2002 - 04:29 AM UTC
I just recived the Tamayia M1A1 with mine plow. The question i have is, in all the books and pictures I dont see a external APU. Is it a new addition to the current M1A2 tanks? What does it do? And finally does it belong on the M1A1 with mine plow? The dio I was thinking of doing is a simple single M1A1 going through a berm in Iraq with its plow down paving the way for other tanks and troops. Thanks for any kind of help! Scott
Tiger101
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 902 posts
Armorama: 628 posts
Posted: Friday, September 13, 2002 - 04:36 AM UTC
I'm not an expert but some tanks M1A1's did have an APU mounted to the rear right side. The APU ran the tanks electronics and other items so the engine did not have to be run. Think of it as a small generator. That's what I've been told. Mine clearing M1A1's also had a box on the rear center that holds markers for follow on units to see that a mine clearing unit was thru the area and to follow "this" path. I'm note sure if this was flags (like the NBC Fuchs) or light sticks. I hope this helps.
stavka2000
Visit this Community
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
KitMaker: 120 posts
Posted: Friday, September 13, 2002 - 08:08 AM UTC
Scott,

One of my friends commanded a platoon of M1A1s in Korea. He mentioned once that not all tanks in his company had the APUs, and that on later M1A1s as well as M1A2s the plan was to have a generator mounted on, I believe, one side of the turret. He said that the reason his tanks did not all have them had to do with money.