Hosted by Darren Baker
First armor, Tamiya M2A2
DaveMan
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
KitMaker: 137 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 03, 2002 - 09:15 PM UTC
I received a Tamiya M2A2 as a gift this year. I now need to build it, as the sender and kids,will be visiting me for the holidays. I am sure they will be happy to see that I built and enjoyed the kit. The problem is I have never built armor before.

I have done a bit of research, and read some reviews, and this should be a fairly simple box stock buildup. I plan to smooth out the bottom, of the hull, to cover up the switch hole, and remove the logos. That's probably about all I am going to do, except for paint detailing, and mild weathering. I assume the tracks are okay for a shelf buildup, even though they are vinyl. How close is this kit to the Bradleys that were used in Desert Storm? Would the Desert Yellow, (Tamiya # XF59) be appropriate for a Desert Shield/Desert Storm vehicle? The kit is copyrighted 1990, so I am assuming that the subject was correct for the late '80s, early '90s. Were there any special changes made to these before they went to Iraq? Different paint? Markings? changes to external features, or equipment stowed on them?

I want to keep this simple, and fairly quick, but I would like to get it as close to correct as I can too. It will serve it's duty as a nice looking shelf model, not a contest piece. I will probably use the kit decals, it they are appropriate, but I would gladly get a set of aftermarket decals if necessary. This should be a fun buildup, if it goes together anything like the Tamiya Aircraft kits I have built up. I am ordering the paint from Squadron this week, so I need to figure out if there is anything else I need for the kit. Any other special colors that I don't already have in my Aircraft collection?

Thanks for your advice,
Dave
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 17,694 posts
Armorama: 13,742 posts