_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Individual Track Links how to
ArmouredSprue
Visit this Community
South Australia, Australia
KitMaker: 1,958 posts
Armorama: 1,003 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 09, 2002 - 12:21 AM UTC
Hello guys!
I know this was discussed in others topics, but I'm stucked with a problem....
I'm building an Italeri Pz IV ausf G 1/35, and I decided to replace their tracks for the DML link to link tracks, this is my first time with this kind of material and I really don't know what to do, I read the article here at Armorama about making indi tracks but I confess I couldn't replicate this, I don't know what is going wrong, so I think maybe another one could fill me with a new or diferent techinique....Any sugestions?
I also would like to know if you paint it on the place or if you take it off to paint, anyway I'd like to know how do you make it ( both cases!).
Thanks on advance!
Cheers
SS-74
Visit this Community
Vatican City
KitMaker: 3,271 posts
Armorama: 2,388 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 09, 2002 - 12:52 AM UTC
Hi Paulo,

I will try to take a stab at your question, since I had built s a number of DML armor and found the indi. links to be easy to work with. (Used to really scared of them as well)

What I do is follows:

1st. You assemble the lower chasis, torsion bar and all. But try not to glue the Driving Sprocket in place, so it can rotates a bit to let the teeth bite in the tracks

2nd. After you cleaned up all the track links, I usually make 4 sections, one for wrap around the driving sprocket, so you need just enough length to have it around the sprocket. You can use regularly model glue then glue the links together. And the glue won't dry for maybe 30 to 45 minutes, you can still flex and wrap around the sprocket. Other sections one section around the idler, and one at the top, and another at the bottom.