_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Photo Etch
brno465
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 87 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 09, 2002 - 09:07 AM UTC
Hi Guys, just about to start on Revell's ex-Dragon JagdTiger, and I'm going to use Eduards PE set for it. I've also got the set for Italeri's Blazer ordered.

I've never used PE before, so any tips or hints on success with the stuff would be greatly appreciated.
Do all PE sets need anealing to start with ?
Whats the best method of part removal and cleanup?
Any other things I need to know ?
Thanks.
Tim
Folgore
Visit this Community
Canada
KitMaker: 1,109 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 09, 2002 - 09:12 AM UTC
What does anealing mean? I guess they must not need it because I have never had problems with PE and I don't do anything special with it, other than making sure it receives a primer coat with the rest of the model.

Nic
brno465
Visit this Community
Australia
Posted: Saturday, November 09, 2002 - 09:20 AM UTC
Sorry, should be annealing.
I remember seeing a pic somewhere of a pe set being heated over a candle to remove some of the metal's surface hardening - annealing. I just didn't know if it was something that HAD to be done or not.
Tim
ArmouredSprue
Visit this Community
South Australia, Australia
KitMaker: 1,958 posts
Armorama: 1,003 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 09, 2002 - 09:36 AM UTC
Hi!
Annealing is just to heat the pe part until it gets the red color, let it cool on the air (don´t put it under water) it is made to facilitate to fold it....
just my two cents$
lifestyle
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 340 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 09, 2002 - 09:57 AM UTC
Yea Im am trying pe on my next model too A marder III I am also going to do the verliden interior on it it should be a dandy.
Folgore
Visit this Community
Canada
KitMaker: 1,109 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 09, 2002 - 02:10 PM UTC