_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: British Armor
Discuss all types of British Armor of all eras.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Warrior MCV Iraq 2003
harryblack
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 21 posts
Armorama: 19 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 06, 2005 - 01:43 AM UTC
Can anyone Help
Opened my Birthday presents today and amongst them was a Warrior MCV (Acadamy) from my wife. I have only up to now modelled figures and a few scratch dioramas. So can anyone offer me advice on the colour schemes using either Humbrol or Tamiya paints and other top tips to convert this model into a master piece. I feel I should Know more about this subject as I was out in Iraq with the Royal Marines and have got a photograph of myself an "the Lads" sat astride a Warrior, but at the time I wasn't thinking of colour schemes and rust techniques!!
Any tips would be greatly received as I am a raw novice to this.

Marty S
bison126
Visit this Community
Correze, France
KitMaker: 5,329 posts
Armorama: 5,204 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 06, 2005 - 02:23 AM UTC
Hi Martin,
as far as the kit builds, I can't help you. I suggest you to have a look to a review either here or at the PMMS site.

For the painting, I would use a mix of Tamiya Dark Yellow and Yellow. The proportions are up to you so far you get the right shade of British Yellow. As you mus know, the paint you British apply is not that much weather resistant. You'll have to give the worn-out aspect by applying patches ans scratches of dark green on the various parts of the vehicles subject to frequent crew passage or sand/weather wearing. A good technique is to use a bit of the scratch face of a domestic sponge slightly wet with the appropriate shade of green.

HTH
olivier
dexter059
Visit this Community
Region de Valparaiso, Chile
KitMaker: 1,569 posts
Armorama: 1,385 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 06, 2005 - 05:12 AM UTC
Hi Martin,