_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Painting
Tngo1
Visit this Community
Vietnam
KitMaker: 4 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, November 17, 2002 - 01:48 PM UTC
I'm very new at this, can someone please give me step by step on how to go about painting my T62A. I heard of painting including washing, weathering, and much more. If anyone please give me some information on how to go about it maybe this question has been asked before if i could just get the link to information is helpful. Thanks for the help.
merkava8
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 501 posts
Posted: Monday, November 18, 2002 - 10:55 AM UTC
For me, I find the best way is to build the model in logical stages, ie turret, chassis etc. I usually leave the tracks to last. Once you are ready to paint chose your base coat (if you are are doing chipped paint) most tanks have some chipping. A cool way I saw was the base coat painted on and dried. Then water was sprayed on the model. While it was still wet you sprinkle salt on and let it dry. After that you spray on your top coat. Once you do all that you do your weathering/washing. You should find all you need for that on this site. Remeber to age your tank before you add your mud. When I did my mud for a Pz IV, I put squadron putty where I wanted the thick mud then borrowed my wife's folk art paints and dry brushed a mix of them on. It looked like the tank had gone though a mud puddle at top speed :-) Anyways, the best thing I can suggest is experiment, experiment, experiment. There is a marked difference between the tanks I first did and the tanks I'm doing now.
Cheers
Digger
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 94 posts
Posted: Monday, November 18, 2002 - 11:39 AM UTC
Mate,