_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas: Techniques
Diorama techniques and related subjects.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Zimmerit application and masks
spongya
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
MODELGEEK
Visit this Community
Budapest, Hungary
KitMaker: 2,365 posts
Armorama: 1,709 posts
Posted: Friday, November 18, 2005 - 03:33 PM UTC

I have read a lot about Zimmerit and it's modelling. I have the new Dragon Tiger -and the late model has some of this stuff on, which is not modelled in the kit. As far as I know there is no aftermarked resin Zimmerit for this Tiger, so I probably should do it by hand.
This article was the most useful so far:
https://armorama.kitmaker.net/modules.php?op=modload&name=Sections&file=index&req=printpage&artid=30

Should I by a zimmerit applicator? Should I follow the protocol from the article? (That's the cheapest and I'm low on cash -not mentioning that it's unlikely I'd use it a lot.) What do you think the best method for applying Zimmerit is?

Second problem: I'm not very experienced with delicate camo patterns yet. So far al the helicopters and airplanes had quite simple camos. How should I achieve that elaborate, three colored, hard edged camo pattern on the Tiger Command version? How do you blend the colors after you have the pattern? How do you mask on Zimmerit? (Masking tape is I guess out of the question. Is silly putty delicate enough for fine lines?)

Going back to read...

Thanks
thedutchie
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 1,299 posts
Armorama: 919 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 19, 2005 - 12:34 AM UTC
Andras:

There are 2 applicators that I know of. They are both between 5-10 $ range. Ones by AFV and the other is Tamiya. I bought the AFV Doe Zimm Applicator off a guy from here, Winston Vermilyea, call sign "wingsntreads". Its very good.

just some more info for you

spongya
MODELGEEK
Visit this Community
Budapest, Hungary
Posted: Saturday, November 19, 2005 - 05:17 AM UTC
Hi