_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Stretched Sprue Antenna
vproject
Visit this Community
KitMaker: 20 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, November 21, 2002 - 09:00 PM UTC
I'm a newbie at modeling armor and I always wondered on how you make those antennas for the tanks...
godfather
Visit this Community
Canada
KitMaker: 817 posts
Armorama: 465 posts
Posted: Thursday, November 21, 2002 - 09:55 PM UTC
you take a bit of sprue the plastic frame holding all the parts of teh kit. Hold over a candle and ratate when it starts to bubble and bend either twist and pull apart or pull apart. Important! as you pull apart move away from teh flame. you should get a nice thin piece of antenna. Takes a bit of practice and timing. BTW I read that 57 mm is scale length for 1/35th german antennas.
ShermanSam
Visit this Community
Drenthe, Netherlands
KitMaker: 136 posts
Armorama: 105 posts
Posted: Thursday, November 21, 2002 - 11:51 PM UTC
i use copper wire for the atenna.
there is no flame in the region that can ruine the antenna

greets ShermanSam
Bluefalcon47
Visit this Community
Netherlands
KitMaker: 255 posts
Posted: Thursday, November 21, 2002 - 11:52 PM UTC
Guitar string might be another solution. I have several diameters that I got from my father (he plays the guitar, not me #:-) ).
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
Armorama: 7,138 posts
Posted: Friday, November 22, 2002 - 01:51 AM UTC
Couple of things, each 'type' of plastic will soften at a different rate, so test and play with each kit.
Once you have reached the desired streetch hold still until the plastic hardens a bit. It will keep it from bending (unless you are looking for a bend).
kkeefe
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 1,416 posts
Posted: Friday, November 22, 2002 - 01:59 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Guitar string might be another solution.