_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
firefly + hedgerow cutters?
moJimbo
Visit this Community
Shah Alam, Malaysia
KitMaker: 986 posts
Armorama: 387 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 08:55 AM UTC
....i have the 1/35 DML firefly Vc and i was wondering whether they were ever attached the headrow cutters (Cullins device)? i see that some US shermans in normandy have them, but did the British used them as well?

.. many thanks.
MonkeyGun
Visit this Community
England - North East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 943 posts
Armorama: 825 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 09:11 AM UTC
Im no expert but i think the British did use hedgerow cutters on there Cromwells in fact one is included in the Tamiya kit .

I did some searching on the internet and apparently there is a pic of a British Sherman with hedgecutters in the Osprey book on the "Shermans in British service". And possibly a pic of a Firefly with the cutters in Mark Haywards book "Firefly"

Maybe one of the resident Sherman experts will be able to cast more light on the subject or maybe even have these books

Ian
crockett
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 370 posts
Armorama: 302 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 09:11 AM UTC
Idon't mean to come off like an expert, because I don't know beans about the Firefly, But I would think that the Brits didn't have to deal with as much "hedgerow" country in thier Caan sector, and I don't really recall ever seeing British armor with hedgerow cutters installed.

Steve
hellbent11
Visit this Community
Kansas, United States
KitMaker: 725 posts
Armorama: 340 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 11:22 AM UTC
I'm with MonkeyGun on this one. I've seen a couple of photos with brit shermie's that had cutters on them. I've also seen a few models with them on. Where I found the pics on the net escapes me but I'll see what I can dig up!
Exile