_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
How-To for afv washes
loudYANK
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
KitMaker: 68 posts
Armorama: 61 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 06:55 AM UTC
This is my first post and I am fairly new to the hobby. I have made several models, mostly tanks and some light viechles which were all painted with an airbrush. I do use weathering powders, but I am looking for some good techniques to bring out the grime and rust in my projects. Any suggestions on light and heavy washes and what I need to make them and how to apply them.
Javlin813
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 336 posts
Armorama: 191 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 07:18 AM UTC
Hi!

Welcome to Armorama. I'm relatively new here too and I'm sure you'll find the "Big A" to be a helpful and almost infinite resource and a great community just as I have.

I'm sure others here can enlighten you on a wide range of weathering methods - washes, dryburshing, paint chipping,etc.
One I've found to be particularly easy and effective is called a sludge wash. Basically, you coat your entire model with Future to get a smooth, glossy surface. Two coats is probably best.After the Future has dried cover the entire model with the sludge; let it sit for about 15 to 30 minutes and then remove it from large spaces with a cotton swab of soft, lint free towel. Of course, you'll need to put a mat finish on the model when your done
The sludge consists of 5 parts water, 3 parts dish soap and 2 parts acrylic paint (black, burnt umber - whatever color you want really)I found it in FineScale Modeler and I think that you can get the article from their website.

Goody luck and happy modeling!

Scott
loudYANK
Visit this Community
Posted: Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 07:35 AM UTC