_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Axis - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Axis forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Dragon Kettenkrad
GSPatton
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 1,411 posts
Armorama: 609 posts
Posted: Friday, December 13, 2002 - 08:05 AM UTC
For a very long time the only Krad out there was the ancient Tamiya version. Having built my fair share of them I was happy to see a newer Krad from Dragon. However, my gladness soon turned in fustration as I attempted to put the kit together. I have been building models for some 30 years and never have a found one so screwed up from the get go. I will relate some of what I found below.

1. Muffler - there is no muffler for the kit. I guess the Dragon designers failed to bend over and look under the vehicle. So its scratch building time.
2. Engine hatch. WAY too thick, and completely blocks the view of the engine. You either go with after market PE or as I did, get out the sanding sticks, thin in down and add mesh to the openings.
3. Suspension - Tiny parts on tiny location pins.
4. Track - !*&^(^%$#@^ and that's I have to say good about it. Seperate links and seperate pads - my eyes are still sore.
5. Fit - iffy at best.
6. Front forks - finish the &*^&%$^ track first before adding the forks. If you don't the forks are going to float in mid air.
7. Rear Nortek structure. Flawed with major seam down the middle. Again, its scratch-building time.
8. Rear seat. A plastic square and not realistic at all. I cut mine out and used epoxy putty to rebuild seats.

There's a great deal more I could write, but won't. Has anyone else experienced these problems with the Krad or am I just being too critical.
AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 8,074 posts
Armorama: 3,293 posts
Posted: Friday, December 13, 2002 - 08:18 AM UTC

Quoted Text

4. Track - !*&^(^%$#@^ and that's I have to say good about it. Seperate links and seperate pads - my eyes are still sore.