_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Casting Numbers ... help
Trogley
Visit this Community
New South Wales, Australia
KitMaker: 9 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 25, 2006 - 12:59 PM UTC
Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new at this and building the Italeri M4A176 as an Operation Cobra vehicle. Yes, yes, I know that kit is past its prime but I'm doin it for sentimental reasons. I am updating it as I go along and would like to add casting numbers to the turret sides, top, mantlet and transmission cover. The problem is that I have no idea what numbers would be appropriate. I have several images of casting numbers in each location but I have no way of knowing whether they are appropriate for the period I am trying to depict.

In the heat of the moment last night I cemented the number "205" on each side of the turret, with a "2" below it. The numbering looks right when matched to a series of images I have but then I realised the creature in the images has a muzzle brake on the barrel of the 76 and other features indicative of period later than July/August 44.

Do any of you have any thoughts on the suitabiltiy of the number I put on the turret? Is there reference material (book, website etc) which goes into some detail on casting numbers?

Thanks for the help, Mario.
HONEYCUT
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 4,002 posts
Armorama: 2,947 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 25, 2006 - 01:36 PM UTC
Gday Mario and first welcome...
No harm in building the Italeri kit. Must be a reason for it lasting all these years!!
I think the fact that you are including casting numbers would mean that you are taking care in research. That aid though, you MAY find it hard to get exacting number info, but I hope to be proven wrong (it would help me also!!)