_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Modern - USA
Modern Armor, AFVs, and Support vehicles.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Tamiya M1A1 Mine Plow - worthwhile?
osjohnm
Visit this Community
Western Cape, South Africa
KitMaker: 122 posts
Armorama: 121 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 09, 2006 - 04:36 PM UTC
Hi all

I'm a novice when it comes to armor models (been building planes and helicopters for the last 2yrs) and I'm currently building the Tamiya M1A2 OIF. I'm really enjoying the kit and I'm definitely going to build more armor models.

I've heard that the older M1A1 kits from Tamiya aren't that great or as good as the A2 kit.

However I would like to buy one of the Echelon decal sheets and build one or two M1A1s with a mine plow attached.

How bad is the M1A1 kit? Besides the inaccuracies (I wouldn't know) is it quite an enjoyable build?

I posted this on FSM but only got 2 responses. They suggested that I get the trumpeter M1 panther kit and use the rollers on that kit and then use the plow on the tamiya A2 kit. Unfortunately then I have to build a kit that I'm not interested in.

Would it be possible to "fix" the M1A1 kit with the remainder of the parts from my A2 kit?

Any comments or suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks
John
Drader
Visit this Community
Wales, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 3,791 posts
Armorama: 2,798 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 09, 2006 - 05:11 PM UTC
The Tamiya M1A1 with mine plow isn't that bad, mostly it's the same kit as the A2, so build and level of detail are similar. IIRC very early versions of the Tamiya M1A1 had the shorter M1 turret, but this was corrected and the old turret shouldn't be around now.

Even though Vodnik's wonderful comparison epic (link below) doesn't specifically cover the M1A1 you can work out a fair bit about the model from it.

M1 Comparison
Sabot
KitMaker: 12,596 posts
Armorama: 9,071 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 09, 2006 - 06:45 PM UTC